prime minister's

research fellows


The Prime Minister's Research Fellows (PMRF) Scheme has been designed for improving the quality of research in various higher educational institutions in the country.

With attractive fellowships, the scheme seeks to attract the best talent into research thereby realizing the vision of development through innovation. The scheme was announced in the Budget 2018-19.


The institutes which can offer PMRF include all the IITs, all the IISERs, Indian Institute of Science, Bengaluru and some of the top Central Universities/NITs that offer science and/or technology degrees.


The candidates will be selected through a rigorous selection process and their performance will be reviewed suitably through a national convention.

PMRF Granting Institutes

Banaras Hindu University
IISc Bangalore
IISER Berhampur
IISER Bhopal
IISER Kolkata
IISER Mohali
IISER Thiruvananthapuram
IISER Tirupati
IIT Bhilai
IIT Bhubaneswar
IIT Bombay
IIT Delhi
IIT Dharwad
IIT(ISM) Dhanbad
IIT Gandhinagar
IIT Guwahati
IIT Hyderabad
IIT Indore
IIT Jodhpur
IIT Kanpur
IIT Kharagpur
IIT Madras
IIT Mandi
IIT Patna
IIT Roorkee
IIT Ropar
IIT Jammu
IIT Palakkad
IIT Tirupati
Jamia Millia Islamia
Jawaharlal Nehru University
National Institute of Technology, Tiruchirappalli
University of Delhi
University of Hyderabad
Aligarh Muslim University

As per the NCC Guidelines, PMRF fellows admitted in the following cycles will be reviewed in May 2023.

a. Cycle 1 (May 2018, Direct)
b. Cycle 3 (May 2019, Direct)
c. Cycle 5 (May 2020, Direct and Lateral)
d. Cycle 6 (Dec 2020, Direct)
e. Cycle 7 (May 2021, Lateral)
f. Cycle 8 (Dec 2021, Direct)
g. Cycle 9 (May 2022, Lateral)

Timelines are as follows :

PMRFs to submit the Progress Report and CV as a single PDF, TAship Certificate, and link for the webpage. Deadline: 24-Apr-2023 to 29-Apr-2023, 6:00pm

PMRFs to submit the presentation  and 10 minutes video link of your presentation in the portal.. Deadline: 24-Apr-2023 to 2-May-2023, 6:00pm

Submission of recommendation letters by supervisors of PMRF fellows for annual review. Deadline: 24-Apr-2023 to 3-May-2023, 6:00pm

Reviews by National Panel. Deadline: 04-May-2023 to 20-Jun-2023

You have to login into the Main portal using the URL:

After logging in successfully, click on the 'Add Annual Review' button and submit the relevant documents.

Past Announcements